Class Notes

Stay Connected


Staying involved as a Mount Mercy alum is more important (and easier) than ever!

Stay Connected

Nancy Kuennen Roush ’71, ’77 retired on Feb. 23, 2018, after 50 years with Mount Mercy. Roush started in the business office after graduating with a degree in home economics. She received her accounting degree while working in the business office, working in various roles over the years in accounts receivable and payable.

Nancy Kuennen Roush ’71 , ’77

Jean Janssen Graham ’80 received her DNP in 2017 and the Lucille Stewart Beeson Award in 2016 from Samford University. She is now the dean of nursing and allied health at Coastal Alabama Community College.

Mark Hennessey ’88 is chair of the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve State of Iowa.

Karen Lentz O’Loughlin ’88 received a 2017 Aspirations in Computing Educator Award.

Dale Todd ’83

Dale Todd ’83 was elected to Cedar Rapids City Council District 3 and sworn into office on Jan. 2, 2018.


Lucas Lammers ’01 received his doctorate of education from Maryville University.

Michele Switzer Squires ’02 was appointed president of the Tennessee Association of Addiction Counselors.

Marcel Kielkucki ’02 was hired as principal at Beckman Catholic Junior/Senior High School in Dyersville, Iowa, effective July 1, 2018.

Raymond Wheaton ’02 is director of maintenance at Seabrook Nuclear Power Station in Seabrook, New Hampshire.

Brooke Murphy Fitzgerald ’03 was selected as an honoree for the 2018 Women of Influence award by the Corridor Business Journal.

Katie Kamentz ’04 married Gary Leibfried on June 19, 2017.

Jill Schueller Hoeger ’05 and Kevin had a girl, Myra, born Oct. 19, 2017.

Brock Ferry ’06 and Ashley Brokens Ferry ’06 had a boy, Rhett William, born Sept. 13, 2017.

Jason Watts ’06 and Heather had a boy, Ian, born Aug. 4, 2017.

Timothy Jones ’07

Timothy Jones ’07 was honored as one of 12 finalists for Rockwell Collins’ Engineer of the Year award, recognizing the best and brightest of the company’s 6,000 engineers. As a senior software engineer who worked at Rockwell Collins for 17 years, Jones was nominated for his work that increased effectiveness and accuracy on an internal web application for which he was the sole software engineer.

“What Tim accomplished last year was remarkable,” says Ryan Wheeler, who nominated Jones for the award. “His ingenuity, engineering prowess, and relentless creativity developed solutions that make product design models the easiest and fastest they’ve ever been.”

Heather Hernandez ’07 married Jim Rapach on Nov. 25, 2017.

Bryan Jones ’07 and Katie Schultz Jones ’08 had a boy, Wyatt Lucas, born Oct. 29, 2017.

Alicia Schwager Michels ’07 and Jessie had a boy, Easton, born Nov. 22, 2017.

Alaina Eaton Nelson ’07 and Russ had a girl, Annika, born March 22, 2017.

Nate Klein ’07 and family

Nate Klein ’07 and Jenny welcomed Ellary from Ethiopia to their family in November 2017.

Emily Goedert Ruley ’07 and Joe, had a boy, Case, born Feb. 8, 2018.

young children of Katie Smith Sargent ’07 and Jake Sargent ’08

Katie Smith Sargent ’07 and Jake Sargent ’08 welcomed a girl, Tatum Jo, to their family on Oct. 4, 2017.

Kimberly Smith Downs ’08 was selected as an honoree for the 2018 Women of Influence award by the Corridor Business Journal.

Anthony Jensen ’08 is a GEAR UP coordinator for the Cedar Rapids Community School District.

Ava June Hatfield

Brett Hatfield ’08 and Alyssa Drolema Hatfield ’09 had a girl, Ava June, born Nov. 6, 2017.

Stacey Sawyer Jones ’09 is director of marketing at MobileDemand, a leading provider of rugged tablets used by mobile workers in field service, food and beverage distribution, manufacturing, retail, hospitality, agriculture, utilities, and public safety, located in Hiawatha, Iowa.

Michael Kaduce ’09 is the EMT program director at UCLA’s Center for Prehospital Care.

Emily Greiner ’12, ’16 MBA married Jacob Misener ’15 in the Chapel of Mercy on April 8, 2017.

Daniel Morgan ’12 graduated from the University of Iowa College of Law with Honors and now works at Crilley Law Offices in Hiawatha, Iowa.

Rebecca Cuvelier ’13 married Eric Rausch on April 29, 2017, and welcomed a baby girl, Hannah, on Jan. 26, 2018.

Sarah Nachtman ’14 and Brian Buehler wedding photo

Sarah Nachtman ’14 and Brian Buehler were married Oct. 7, 2017.

Nicholas Timm ’14 and Megan Vogel-Timm ’14 had a boy, Jameson, born July 1, 2017.

Kellie Monaghan Wagner ’14 MA earned her Certified Journalism Educator status from the Journalism Education Association.

Kayla Hanson Gaston ’15 married Stephen on Oct. 29, 2016.

Morgan Ortmann ’17 is the assistant director of alumni relations at Mount Mercy University.

Virginia McDonnell Regan JC ’45
Mary (Betty) Thompson Wagner AC ’46
Catherine O’Connell Bader JC ’47
Frances Smith Purdy JC ’47
Joan Meis Sherwin JC ’49

Doris Cashman Cole JC ’52
Sarah Moody Jenkins JC ’57
Patricia A. Johanns JC ’57

Carol Smith Coffland ’71
Marguerite Sawyer Couch ’75
James Kazimour II ’79
Vicky Overton Knutson ’79

Marie Wickman Richmond ’96

Jennifer Koenighain ’12

the grotto and pond at Mount Mercy

AC = Academy | CM = Commercial School | JC = Junior College | RN = Mercy Hospital School of Nursing

Send us your news!

Have a wedding, birth, promotion, anniversary, award, or retirement? Submit your major life events online!

Information in the Class Notes section of Mount Mercy Magazine was submitted for publication.
The university tries to verify the accuracy of the information, however cannot be responsible for incorrect information herein.

For corrections, please contact

Save the Date!

Alumni Reunion Weekend

  • September 28–30, 2018

Alumni Road Tour

  • Tuesday, July 17 | Twin Cities, Minnesota
  • Wednesday, July 18 | Madison, Wisconsin
  • Thursday, July 19 | Chicago, Illinois
  • Friday, July 20 | Iowa City, Iowa