Criminal Justice alumni recognized with top honors by Cedar Rapids Police Department

Jennifer Roberts '97, Officer of the Year. Photo submitted by CRPD

Mount Mercy’s criminal justice alumni received top honors during the 2011 Cedar Rapids Police Department Annual Awards Ceremony on May 19, 2011.

Jennifer Roberts ’97, from Marion, Iowa, was honored as Officer of the Year. Christopher Carton ’11, from Davenport, Iowa, was honored as Recruit of the Year, and Bryan Copeland ’11, from Fairfield, Iowa, was recognized as Reserve Officer of the Year.

“I am proud of our alumni. They are living examples of leadership, service, and purposeful living,” says Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice Amanda Humphrey, Ph.D.

Several other criminal justice alumni were also recognized during the ceremony. Det. George Aboud ’81, from Cedar Rapids, Officer Adrienne Phelps ’08, from Marengo, Iowa, and Officer Spencer Watts ’10, from Danville, Iowa, were awarded a Class E Commendatory Letter.

Officer Douglas Doyle ’09, from Urbana, Iowa, Sgt. Stephen Keiller ’08, from Marion, Iowa, Sgt. Matthew Mullen ’02, from Cedar Rapids and Sgt. Michelle Smothers ’03, from Mt. Vernon, Iowa, were recognized with the Class H Lifesaving Award.

The awards were presented by Cedar Rapids Police Chief Greg Graham.