Faculty and Staff Retirees Honored, Emeritus Status Awarded

The Mount Mercy campus community honored eight faculty and staff members for their service to the institution as each prepared to retire at the end of the 2007-08 academic year. A reception was held on May 4 in Busse Library tocelebrate the retirees’ achievements.

The group, which boasts a collective 221 years of service to Mount Mercy, includes David J. Ard, Ph.D., associate professor of religious studies; Joanne Daggit, Ph.D., director of counseling services; A. Buelane Daugherty, R.N., M.S.N., special assistant to the provost; Robert Naujoks, M.F.A., professor of art; John Rogers, M.S.W., professor of social work; Jay Shuldiner, M.A., associate professor of history; Connie Walther, M.A., media director/serials librarian; and Tianzheng Wu, Ph.D., professor of computer science.

“The scholarly pursuits and personal commitment these individuals have shown to the service of students underscore the unique role faculty and staff play in helping Mount Mercy students ‘learn to love peace and truth,’ in the words of our motto,” says President Christopher Blake. “They have each truly exhibited the teacher-scholar model in their daily interactions with students and colleagues.”

Ard, Naujoks, Rogers, Shuldiner, and Wu have also been awarded Professor Emeritus recognition. Emeritus status is granted from time to time by the Board of Trustees to distinguished faculty who retire from the institution. The status is in recognition of dedication to teaching and long-term service and commitment to the institution. Along with the Professor Emeritus designation, an endowed scholarship in the amount of $25,000 is established in the faculty member’s name.