New Alumni Board members named

Peggy Detweiler ’92
Greg Buelow ’95

The Executive Board of the Mount Mercy Alumni Association recently welcomed three new members: Peggy Detweiler ’92, Greg Buelow ’95 and Susan O’Conner-Von ’76.

Buelow, from Newhall, Iowa, graduated with a criminal justice degree. He serves as the Cedar Rapids Fire Department spokesperson and Special Projects Coordinator. He has received the City of Cedar Rapids Fire Chief’s Award and the National Sheriff’s Association Award, in addition to the Mount Mercy Professional Achievement Alumni Award in 2010.

Detweiler, from Maquoketa, Iowa, graduated with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree. She has served as an accountant for Wertz & Dake since 2005 and prior to that worked for a variety of non-profits,including Four Oaks. An active volunteer, Detweiler has served on the Iowana Camp Fire Board and also is currently a member of the St. Joseph School Board.

Susan O’Conner-Von ’76

O’Conner-Von, a resident of Riverside, Iowa, earned a nursing degree from Mount Mercy, going on to earn a Master of Science in Maternal and Child Health, Adult Education from the University of Minnesota and a Doctor of Nursing Science degree from Rush University in Chicago. She currently teaches baccalaureate, post-baccalaureate and graduate nursing students at the University of Minnesota. She has won numerous honors and awards, including the Distinguished Service Award at Homecoming this year at Mount Mercy.